Reviews - Westwinds Guest House

Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Had an excellent stay and would stay again, also recommend this hotel to others.

Reviewer: Chris Eamens | Fri 12th May 2017


Lovely night\'s sleep - Rating 5/5

I was staying for one night, arriving late and leaving early. I would\'ve liked to stay longer! Westwinds is lovely. I like the historical building, the room was cozy, the wi-fi was fast, everything I needed. The hosts are lovely, really friendly people, too. I\'ll definitely stop again if I\'m ever in Plymouth for the weekend.

Reviewer: Mr. Ben Irving | Tue 4th Apr 2017


Would recommend - Rating 5/5

Two of our engineers stayed here for 6 nights whilst completing a contract. They found Westwinds team to be friendly, the room well equipped and comfortable and the property in an excellent location - will definitely return when next in area

Reviewer: Anthony Louch | Mon 3rd Apr 2017


Just perfect - Rating 5/5

A wonderful two-night stay. Very close to the city centre, but also a quiet location on the Hoe, so best of both worlds. Very friendly hosts, and a superb breakfast each morning. Thank you.

Reviewer: Robbie Mansell | Mon 3rd Apr 2017


Long Weekend Away - Rating 5/5

We would recommend the Westwinds Guest House to anyone looking for a really excellent weekend stay, we were made very welcome when we arrived, and throughout our stay. The Breakfast was excellent, Thank you so much Phil, you did a brilliant job, we would definitely stay again if in the area.

Reviewer: Linda Large | Mon 20th Mar 2017


Great stay at Westwinds - Rating 4/5

The hosts of westwinds are very friendly and helpful . My room was very clean and comfortable and there was plenty of storage space,drawers and wardrobe .Very bright and cheery.Everywhere was spotless. Breakfast was freshly cooked and tasted wonderful. Excellent location within walking distance of centre ,Barbican and Plymouth Hoe. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer: gillian radford | Mon 13th Mar 2017


Excellent guest house - Rating 5/5

Comfortable and homely, Westwinds was a perfect shelter after a long work day. Breakfast was very good.

Reviewer: Joanna Greenhill-Holland | Fri 20th Jan 2017


Great place - Rating 5/5

Spent my second time here and was very impressed again with a very good experience. Great breakfast, friendly staff, clean room. Will definitely be back.

Reviewer: Mr. Jeffrey Stevenson | Fri 2nd Dec 2016


Very pleasant Accommadation - Rating 5/5

Thank you Phil for your warm welcome to your Guest House. We really enjoyed our stay,the room was lovely and warm,very comfortable bed. The breakfast was freshly cooked and set us up for the day.Very clean and welcoming and would recommend this Guest House to anyone. This is aways our first choice when we come to Plymouth. Looking forward to our next visit.

Reviewer: Mrs. Pat Mclester | Fri 25th Nov 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome awaits for anyone wishing to stay here. Very clean and tidy and a first rate breakfast. Highly recommended !!

Reviewer: Ms. Diane Boyd | Mon 21st Nov 2016


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

Welcome and service was polite, room comfortable, breakfast excellent.

Reviewer: Andrew Jackson | Wed 9th Nov 2016


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

I found it very clean and welcoming place to stay

Reviewer: Mr. john knowles | Wed 2nd Nov 2016


A perfect stay - Rating 4/5

This was perfect for us, we needed to be central, within easy walking distance to the town and university. Phil was a great host, our room was very clean and the breakfast was delicious. Thank you for making our stay in Plymouth so welcoming.

Response

Thank you and hope your son achieves his goals

Reviewer: Helen Brooker | Sun 30th Oct 2016


WARM WELCOME IN WINDY PLYMOUTH - Rating 4/5

We had a warm welcome on arrival, and Phil and family were very helpful sorting out a room for my son. The meals were filling and did the job the English breakfasts are famous for. The bed was comfortable and the shower etc was clean and well maintained. Stacie was a fun lady and made a birthday breakfast very enjoyable. A very enjoyable 9-day stay.

Response

We are glad your stay in England was enjoyable and thank you for your review

Reviewer: Merv Plummer | Wed 12th Oct 2016


4 day stay - Rating 5/5

Really well located, friendly professional staff. Does what it says on the tin and so no complaints at all.

Response

Thanks for your kind remarks

Reviewer: Mark Plummer | Mon 10th Oct 2016


short stay - Rating 4/5

A very enjoyable stay,comfortable room and a warm welcome.

Reviewer: Eric J.Redstone | Wed 5th Oct 2016


University Graduation on Plymouth Hoe - Rating 5/5

This is a well appointed and very friendly guesthouse that is situated only a short walk from the graduation marquees on Plymouth Hoe. The facilities were very clean and breakfast was good. Parking available in the street and a Zone H parking ticket available from the guesthouse valid from 10.00 until 18.00 for the very reasonable price of £2.00.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments Regards Phil Linda & Stacie

Reviewer: Mr. John Holland | Mon 26th Sep 2016


University Graduation on Plymoth Hoe - Rating 5/5

This is a well appointed and very friendly guesthouse that is situated only a short walk from the graduation marquees on Plymouth Hoe. The facilities were very clean and modern and breakfast was good. Parking available in the street and a Zone H parking ticket available from the guesthouse valid from 10.00 until 18.00 for the very reasonable price of £2.00.

Reviewer: Mr. John Holland | Mon 26th Sep 2016


Night of 21st Sept - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Very good value for money. Will recommend. M. Burke.

Reviewer: Maureen Burke | Sat 24th Sep 2016


Night of 21st Sept - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Very good value for money. Will recommend. M. Burke.

Reviewer: Maureen Burke | Sat 24th Sep 2016


Night of 21st Sept - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Very good value for money. Will recommend. M. Burke.

Reviewer: Maureen Burke | Sat 24th Sep 2016


Night of 21st Sept - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Very good value for money. Will recommend. M. Burke.

Response

Thank you Maureen for your kind comments and look forward to any future stays you may plan.

Reviewer: Maureen Burke | Sat 24th Sep 2016


Great hospitality, great location! - Rating 4/5

We were delighted to book at Westwinds. Phil & Stacey very friendly & welcoming. Lovely breakfast & accommodation. Great location for the Hoe, Barbican & city. Would love to pop back for longer next time.

Reviewer: Karen Morse | Wed 21st Sep 2016


First visit taking our Son to the University - Rating 4/5

We received a friendly welcome at this family run B and B. Clean and comfortable, although ouren suite double room was on the small side with separate toilet and shower.The breakfast was freshly cooked, full English, cereals,toast, juice, tea and coffee. No fruit or yoghurt available which we would have liked.Situated close to the Barbican,The Hoe shops and the University. Ideal for a short break in the beautiful city of Plymouth

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Pepperrell | Tue 20th Sep 2016


Plymouth fireworks - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm welcome at the door, rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent and sets you up for the day.Nothing is too much trouble. highly recommended... our fourth year there.

Reviewer: Miss. Josephine Stevens | Sun 21st Aug 2016


Good value in great location - Rating 4/5

Westwinds is in a fantastic position for the Hoe,providing comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. Our room was spotless and had everything that we needed. The proprietors were very friendly and helpful.Our only reservation was that the breakfast times are a little tight so that it becomes very busy between 8.15 and 9am

Reviewer: Mrs. sonja henderson | Sat 20th Aug 2016


Pleasant - Rating 3/5

A basic B&B but run by lovely people who will the extra mile. Thank you for finding somewhere to put my car while we were with you, also for the filter coffee with breakfast. Our room was comfy and quiet at night which was a pleasant surprise. A great base for spending a couple of nights at a good price. Thank you all. I don\'t feel I can rate it as a 4 star because of the decor ect, but it certainly deserves a 4 star for the friendliness and willingness to do that extra bit.

Reviewer: Sheila Hall | Fri 19th Aug 2016


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

Phil and his family always make me feel really welcome. Westwinds is cosy and clean, with a great breakfast and friendly atmosphere. Located just moments from Plymouth Hoe, it\'s a perfect place to relax in Plymouth.

Reviewer: Ele Carpenter | Wed 17th Aug 2016


guest house - Rating 5/5

Fab guest house ,clean rooms and friendly and very helpful hosts .breakfast hot and delicious .would recommend to others and defo stay again ...thank you

Reviewer: Mrs. samantha crocker | Tue 2nd Aug 2016


awesome - Rating 5/5

amazing stay at westwinds .breakfast was delicious room comfortable (maybe duvet too hot)plenty room in room ,close to event ,very friendly nice hosts ,thnk you

Reviewer: Mrs. Samantha Crocker | Tue 2nd Aug 2016


Another Great Stay at Westwinds - Rating 5/5

Our second stop at Westwards - great family run bed and breakfast - great room and great breakfast

Reviewer: Mrs. Deborah Parker | Fri 22nd Jul 2016


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay. Will stay here again when return to plymouth. Owmers are more than helpful and did a wonderful job making us feel at home. Clean and professional.

Reviewer: Katie O\\\'Shaughnessy | Tue 19th Jul 2016


Good place to stay - Rating 5/5

Good place to stay for Plymouth and the Barbican.

Response

Thanks John

Reviewer: Mr. John Holland | Tue 31st May 2016


Westwinds - Rating 4/5

excellent guest house. Friendly, clean, good breakfast :-)

Reviewer: Peter O\'Toole | Tue 31st May 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very warm & friendly welcome, was our second visit to Westwinds. The room & en-suite very clean, bed comfortable,ideal room for us, as on first floor. Breakfast Excellent. Price Excellent. Will certainly book again. Ace !!.

Response

Thank you very much for your kind comments

Reviewer: Mr. Frank Higgs | Thu 26th May 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

I stayed here for two weeks whilst on a training break and Phil and his family made me feel very comfortable. The room was spotless, the breakfast delicious and they were attentive but not intrusive. I will definitely stay here again. The location is also excellent. Highly recommended.

Reviewer: Alex Sidman | Mon 11th Apr 2016


all we needed and more - Rating 5/5

We only really saw Phil, who was excellent, friendly and a good cook! The room was comfortable. it had enough storage for our needs, beautifully clean and recently decorated. Breakfast was superb. Reasonably priced and we would definitely stop here again and recommend it.

Reviewer: Pamela Eastwood | Tue 29th Mar 2016


Great and friendly place - Rating 5/5

Westwinds is a great place to stay in Plymouth. Very friendly, clean rooms, good location and a really very good breakfast. I\'d certainly stay again!

Reviewer: Ian Rawlinson | Tue 9th Feb 2016


our regular place to stay - Rating 5/5

lovely B & B with friendly staff, clean rooms and lovely breakfast

Reviewer: Gavin Electrical | Mon 26th Oct 2015


Nice rooms and breakfast - Rating 5/5

2 of my empoyees stayed this week for 2 nights , nice rooms, nice breakfast and friendly staff. we have used Westwinds several times in past and will be staying again in future

Reviewer: Gavin Electrical | Thu 1st Oct 2015


Westwinds - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay, friendly and helpful, although in a residential area parking was never a problem and the room was spotless.

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Hannam | Sun 30th Aug 2015


A GREAT STAY. - Rating 5/5

A very pleasent couple of days stay, with a very pleasent family, comfortable accomadation and a nicely cooked breakfast, if i go to Plymouth for the fireworks championships in 2016 I shall book in at westwinds. 5 out of 5.? sorry it will have to be 10 out of 10.

Reviewer: Mr. Maurice Hunt | Tue 25th Aug 2015


excellent friendly accommodation - Rating 5/5

Single mum with two older daughters 20 and 15, lovely welcome even though we arrived 1 hour and 30 mins early, was no problem and lead to our room, stayed in the top attic family room, loved it, spacious and light with great views and very clean.Settled in straight away, nothing too much trouble with short walk to The Hoe and town centre. Even got a room for my sister and partner at very short notice and they were very happy too. Very nice cooked breakfast, which was served in a nice clean breakfast room lounge. Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone visiting Plymouth.Thanks for a most pleasant stay.

Reviewer: Miss. Donna Redman | Sun 23rd Aug 2015


Lovely time - Rating 5/5

Very nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Rooms were nice and clean.

Reviewer: Judita Borosova | Wed 19th Aug 2015


Good all round stay - Rating 5/5

Stay 2 nights , everything was 1st class . Would stay here again ,

Reviewer: Mr. James Adams | Mon 17th Aug 2015


Had a great stay at the west winds b&b - Rating 4/5

This hotel was very clean and the staff where very friendly as well. The breakfasts where tasty to. This hotel is very central.

Reviewer: Doreen Johnston | Mon 3rd Aug 2015


As Arnie says \"We will return\" - Rating 5/5

Once again we had a brilliant stay at Westwinds, Phil, Linda and Stacie give 100% rooms are very clean and the breakfast sets you up for the day. So friendly and always willing to give advice on Plymouth. The location is convenient for the Hoe and of course plenty of opportunity to enjoy the shopping in the city centre.

Reviewer: Mr. Clive Hagley | Tue 30th Jun 2015


armed forces weekend - Rating 5/5

we arrived with a very friendly and helpful reception. lovely clean fresh rooms and a hearty full english breakfast.will be coming back for another stay well done Phil, Linda & Stacie for a lovely weekend.

Reviewer: Mr. kevin edmands | Mon 29th Jun 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Great place, excellent breakfast and nicely located close to Plymouth waterfront. Enjoyed the stay!

Reviewer: Mr. Hannes Frykholm | Mon 15th Jun 2015


weekend away - Rating 5/5

My daughters and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we were made to feel welcome the house was lovely. Our room was just right for our needs. Thankyou to you all for your hospitality.

Reviewer: Ms. Debbie mumford | Mon 1st Jun 2015


Return to Westwinds - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed my stay last year so didn\'t hesitate to book a return trip this year, lovely room & breakfast not to be missed.

Reviewer: Miss. Carol Pope | Wed 20th May 2015


Lovelly Weekend - Rating 5/5

The room and service was the usual high standard we come to expect.

Reviewer: Mr. John Holland | Tue 19th May 2015


West wind - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay ..very friendly. Made us feel very welcome. Will definitely stay again

Reviewer: Mrs. TRACEY EWING | Mon 13th Apr 2015


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Lovely little room, great breakfast, friendly host, excellent price. Very happy. Will definetly return.

Reviewer: Adam Taylor | Fri 6th Mar 2015


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

What a great place to stay, very comfortable, and very very clean, phil was an excellent host, nothing was any trouble. I would highly recommend westwinds to anyone. If i am down in plymouth again i will definately be staying here again.

Reviewer: Ms. Carol Taylor | Fri 6th Mar 2015


Our stay at west winds - Rating 4/5

Thanks to Phil and Linda for a comfortable and welcoming stay we would most certainly stay again when visiting Plymouth also allowing us some extra time because of the rough weather , hope to see you again soon Gary & carol Williams

Reviewer: Gary Williams | Sat 7th Feb 2015


westwinds - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay.i was down there for my son s graduation day was made most welcome.if ever im down that way again i would stay again.

Reviewer: Mr. David Gambrell | Sun 9th Nov 2014


Warm welcome at Westwinds - Rating 4/5

A really lovely b&b with good sized bright rooms. Fantastic breakfast, friendly owners with lovely dogs. Would stay here again. Only thing missing was hairdryer in room.

Reviewer: Garry Brown | Thu 16th Oct 2014


The Oompahs ! - Rating 4/5

Lovely! We all enjoyed our stay at West Winds - our second time there and will definitely stay again on future Oompah trips and any time we are in Plymouth. Very comfortable b&b, brilliant location and lovely friendly welcoming hosts. Thank you for accommodating us all.

Reviewer: Jo Stevens | Tue 14th Oct 2014


A lovely break - Rating 5/5

Very clean and well run guest house,breakfasts are gorgeous and hosts very helpful,very warm and atmosphere is lovely

Reviewer: Mr. Daryll Dawes | Fri 26th Sep 2014


A lovely break - Rating 5/5

Very clean and well run guest house,breakfasts are gorgeous and hosts very helpful,very warm and atmosphere is lovely

Reviewer: Mr. Daryll Dawes | Fri 26th Sep 2014


daughter\'s graduation - Rating 4/5

We stayed at westwinds guesthouse while celebrating our daughter\'s graduation. The guesthouse was welcoming and the rooms clean and breakfasts good. The proximity to the hoe (where the graduation ceremony took place) was excellent -being only a short 10 minute walk away.

Reviewer: Angela Williams | Tue 23rd Sep 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Rooms are amenities very good. Delicious cooked breakfast every morning.Very friendly family atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to my friends.

Reviewer: Mr. Nico Heyens | Mon 22nd Sep 2014


STAY 20-21 SEPT - Rating 5/5

Westwinds is superb value.Excellent location.Very attractive rooms.very comfortable beds.Excellent in every way.

Reviewer: Sean Lennon | Mon 22nd Sep 2014


Surpassed expectations - Rating 5/5

A friend and I stayed at Westwinds whilst participating in a sailing regatta in Plymouth. For the price I would have to say that this place is exceptional value. Clean, friendly and excellent breakfast included - we couldn't have asked for more.

Reviewer: Andy Watkins | Tue 26th Aug 2014


Our Stay - Rating 5/5

Dear Phil, Stacy & Family. Your Guest House is great. You Guys do a wonderful Job and make everyone feel at home. My Family loved the location of the home and we felt very welcomed here, Thank You! I shall recommend your B&B to all our friends & family and hope to return in the future. Thanks again Mubassar & Family.

Reviewer: Mubassar Mayat | Tue 26th Aug 2014


happy holiday - Rating 5/5

We had such a very warm welcome from you all very clean guest house we will be coming back thank you all very much.

Reviewer: Susan Arrowsmith | Mon 11th Aug 2014


Birthday Weekend - Rating 4/5

It was a celebration weekend, a birthday and a late Golden wedding anniversary. Booked a double room which was great and a twin which was cramped but both room scored high on cleanliness. Very pleasant helpful host, great cooked breakfast. B&B in a great central local location and good value over all.

Reviewer: Mrs. Eileen Bailey | Tue 22nd Jul 2014


B&B - Rating 4/5

Good location, friendly staff and nice room.

Reviewer: Mr. David Pickford | Sun 13th Jul 2014


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

A really good Guest House, with lovely spacious rooms, cracking breakfast and great hosts (and Dogs). Would recommend to anyone to try. Carl Wood

Reviewer: Mr Carl Sylkwood | Thu 10th Jul 2014


Nice place to stay - Rating 4/5

Westwinds proved to be a good choice for a B&B in Plymouth. Excellent location near the Hoe, not far from the Barbican, the cental shopping area, and Royal William Yard, it was a friendly and comfortable place to stay. Room was comfortable and quiet, owners were friendly and helpful, and breakfasts were good.

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Kluckner | Sun 22nd Jun 2014


Review - Rating 5/5

All excellent. Good welcome, food and rooms.

Reviewer: Richard Purchase | Sun 15th Jun 2014


Pleasurable stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation. Clean room (slightly cramped), good breakfasts, all as you would expect from a good hotel but when you add to that the warmth and friendliness of 'Mine Hosts; a good hotel becomes excellent!

Reviewer: Mr. David Lill | Sun 15th Jun 2014


Happy Days - Rating 5/5

Excellent service from start to finish, pleasant comfortable room and loved the armchair. Marvelous full English breakfast so my plans for cereal & toast only after the 1st day were quickly forgotten. Lovely friendly hosts, hope to meet them again soon.

Reviewer: Carol Pope | Thu 12th Jun 2014


Westwinds guest house - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable stay, everything in the rooms that we needed. Both rooms we had were very clean. Although the toilet space was a little small, this did not present a problem. The breakfasts were great. Very nicely cooked and plenty of it! More toast and coffee was never any problem. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The position of the B&B was brilliant. A very short walk to the Hoe and the Barbican. All in all we would defiantly return.

Reviewer: Mr. Stewart Gavigan | Mon 9th Jun 2014


Three nights in Plymouth - Rating 5/5

This is our second stay at this well run B&B. A comfortable room with a good hearty breakfast and friendly hosts.

Reviewer: Mr. John Holland | Wed 28th May 2014


Great as always! - Rating 5/5

Friendly and helpful hosts. Will never stay in a hotel again, Eestwinds rule.

Reviewer: Lee Jameson | Mon 28th Apr 2014


Westwinds Guest House - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and comfortable B&B within easy walking distance of the Hoe, Barbican and town centre. I had a clean and comfortable room and breakfast was perfect as ordered every day.

Reviewer: Judith Williamson | Wed 16th Apr 2014


Home form Home - Rating 5/5

Once again we had a great stay at Westwinds, greeted by the lovely Stacy who makes you right at home clean room soft bed no problems there breakfast is well cooked and tasty sets you up for the day. say hi to the dogs.

Reviewer: Mr. David Morris | Fri 11th Apr 2014


Worth every penny! - Rating 5/5

Stayed two night, clean freshly cooked breakfast and very welcoming proprietors. Would stay again and would recommended to anyone.

Reviewer: Lee Jameson | Sun 12th Jan 2014


One of the best - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay again at The Westwinds Guest House on the 18th Dec,Such a friendly family they make you feel so at home .Wonderful breakfast even for gluten free folks,will come back again in the near future

Reviewer: Marcia Richards | Sat 21st Dec 2013


RECOMMENDED - Rating 5/5

Having just visited Plymouth, staying at Westwinds we had a lovely stay and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a lovely B&B conveniently situated close to Plymouth Hoe which is literally only a few minutes walk away.

Reviewer: Steve Rowlands | Wed 23rd Oct 2013


EXCELLENT - Rating 5/5

Made very welcome, comfortable rooms, very nice breakfast, great welcome from all especially Molly and Oscar

Reviewer: Simon Carter | Mon 23rd Sep 2013


Feedback - Rating 5/5

Very satisfied with the service and cordial support when needed. No scope for complaints. Lovely place !

Reviewer: Hrishikesh Khasgiwale | Sat 21st Sep 2013


Westwinds good B&B - Rating 5/5

Excellent accomadation,wonderful breakfast, friendly and helpful owners. Would use again. Good location for a holiday.

Reviewer: Miss. Josephine Stevens | Wed 4th Sep 2013


Very Happy - Rating 4/5

Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, all the staff oh so friendly and breakfast excellent super value for money !

Reviewer: Mr. Dickson Dickson | Mon 19th Aug 2013


Westwinds - Rating 5/5

Friendly,clean and pleasant. Will use again

Reviewer: Ms. Jane Astley | Fri 16th Aug 2013


Lovely Place - Rating 5/5

Very happy to stay here again friendly staff always happy to help.

Reviewer: Steve Clifford (Dorton) | Mon 29th Jul 2013


I expect nothing less - Rating 5/5

It is always a delight to stay at Westwinds. I have in the past stayed at other guest houses on the hoe, but this one really stands out for me. I stay here whenever I am visiting Plymouth, their rooms are first class and attention to detail is excellent, and nothing is ever to much trouble. I look forward to staying with you again soon.

Reviewer: Mr. Matthew Ablett | Fri 26th Jul 2013


Regular visitors - Rating 5/5

Good as usual. Never hesitate to stay there anytime we are in Plymouth.

Reviewer: Mrs. Julie Barrowdale | Thu 18th Jul 2013


- Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly hospitality and a great cooked breakfast. Very convenient location 10 mins walk into town, the Hoe or the barbican. Would definitely recommend to our friends - thank you

Reviewer: Tracy Prater | Mon 17th Jun 2013


Always a lovely welcome - Rating 5/5

My second stay at Westwinds and as before I cannot fault the welcome, comfortable accommodation and excellent breakfast. CW

Reviewer: Caroline Winfield | Sun 2nd Jun 2013


Perfect guest house - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay, room was very clean and comfortable. Didn't have an en-suite but the bath room was next door, again very clean. Breakfast was delicious. Very quiet location, 5 minutes walk from the hoe.

Reviewer: Mrs. Nicola Mitchell | Sat 1st Jun 2013


fantastic b&b - Rating 5/5

lovely clean room. Full english breakfast was very filling and good quality produce.Enjoyed our stay and would recommened Westwinds to anyone planning a stay in Plymouth. Owners are friendly and happy to chat. Great place to stay.

Reviewer: Mrs. Louise Davey | Sun 31st Mar 2013


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Very happy with my stay. Nice breakfast, friendly people, lovely dogs and good value.

Reviewer: Dr. Christopher Yesson | Sun 17th Mar 2013


GR8 Stay - Rating 5/5

As are first time at Westwinds turned out to be a pleasure. Greeted on arival by Stacy and given a guide around. owners very plesant room clean and in good order will stay again.

Response

Thank you and we look forward to your next stay with us at Westwinds

Reviewer: Mr. David Morris | Sun 10th Mar 2013


Close to university - Rating 5/5

Close to university, well managed, friendly, good breakfast, clean and tidy B&B with two well behaved dogs as family pets.

Response

Thank you for your comments John and we look forward to your daughter gaining a place at the University and your welcome return to Westwinds.

Reviewer: Mr. John Holland | Mon 4th Mar 2013


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed a night at Westwinds in December 2012 and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. It was great value for money, clean room, very friendly service and a delicious breakfast. And our dog was made very welcome. What more can you ask for! If we are back in Plymouth we would certainly stay there again

Reviewer: Mrs. Meg Baker | Mon 10th Dec 2012


Pet-friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel was warm, clean and comfortable. My Welsh terrier George and I received a wonderfully friendly weloome. The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a log. The breakfast was excellent and I felt very 'at home' here, as did George. The two resident spaniels, Oscar and Molly also helped to enhance the pleasure of the stay. The location was also brilliant, being so close to the Hoe (a dog-walker's paradise) and to the Continental Ferryport too, and the neighbourhood was quiet. I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a break in Plymouth, or like me, an overnight stop en route to Brittany. I will definitely be staying there again.

Response

Thank you Juliette for your kind comments

Reviewer: Miss. Juliette Hill | Sun 28th Oct 2012


Very pleasent! - Rating 4/5

We only stayed for one night in order to attend one of the the Plymouth Uni Graduation days. Very nice people running this. Rooms were clean and tidy. On street parking or some parking at the back on a 'first come' basis. Location perfect for The Hoe (1min walk) and The Barbican. Lovely breakfast.

Reviewer: David Bonner-Smith | Fri 21st Sep 2012


A perfect room for the occasion - Rating 5/5

A comfortable and friendly guest house which was a perfect place to stay for my graduation. Would stay here again.

Reviewer: Mr. Peter Turner | Thu 20th Sep 2012


Comfortable & clean - Rating 4/5

I stayed for 2 nights while settling my daughter at the university. The guesthouse is well-situated and the room was clean and comfortable and the hosts were friendly and helpful. I enjoyed a fresh and well-cooked breakfast. Parking is on the street and it was not always possible to find a space nearby. I stayed in a standard room, using a shared showerroom & would have welcomed somewhere to hang my dressing gown/ put clothes while showering. Overall a very pleasant guesthouse which I would use again.

Response

Thank you for your kind review and there is now a hook for hanging clothing etc. This was a oversight by us and thank you again for pointing this out.

Reviewer: Mrs. Caroline Easton | Sun 16th Sep 2012


Westwinds Guest House - Rating 5/5

It was a pleasure to be guests at Westwinds. We were made welcome and at home from when we got there and met lovely people, no complaints for the room and were in the perfect location topped off with a lovely breakfast from Phil every morning :) Would reccommend for anyone! Will be going back in the future, thankyou

Response

Thanks for your comments

Reviewer: Mrs. Suzanne Cowls | Sun 2nd Sep 2012


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Cannot fault yur service. Rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast perfectly cooked and owners friendly but discrete. The position of the guest house is wonderful for exploring the seaward side of Plymouth.

Response

Very kind thank you

Reviewer: Caroline Winfield | Fri 17th Aug 2012


Very pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

We came to Plymouth with our young grandson to see the fireworks. We had the family room which is the whole of the attic floor. Lovely size and some good views. Very warm welcome and our hosts were also very friendly. Overall a good place to stay. Would recommend to anyone.

Response

I'm glad you had such a nice stay thanks

Reviewer: Mrs. Deborah Marshall | Fri 17th Aug 2012


- Rating 5/5

Very friendly, clean and a lovely breakfast - what more could you want?

Reviewer: Mr. Jon Seyfang | Fri 17th Aug 2012


Westwinds Guest House - Rating 5/5

Excellent - clean guest house, friendly owners and staff - dog with us and no issues would stay again

Reviewer: Ms. Michelle Hewison | Mon 6th Aug 2012


Five stars! - Rating 5/5

I stayed at Westwinds Thursday-Sunday and the overall experience was great. The owners were lovely and friendly, and happy to help with anything and have a chat. The room was clean, tidy and well-furnished, and the bathroom was always spotless. The breakfasts were huge and very tasty! If I were to find one criticism, it would have been nice to be able to check out at 11am rather than 10am, but that is all. A much more comfortable and welcoming stay than somewhere like a travelodge.

Reviewer: Miss. Charlotte Keynes | Mon 30th Jul 2012


Enjoyable visit - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant stay as usual. Would recommend to other people.

Reviewer: Mrs. Julie Barrowdale | Wed 25th Jul 2012


Excellant guest house - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming , comfortable and clean. A very enjoyable stay. Thankyou

Reviewer: Mrs. Emma Bassett | Tue 24th Jul 2012


Top Notch - Rating 5/5

Excellent, unreservedly recommended. Phil & family gave us the warmest of welcomes with nothing being too much trouble. Everywhere is spotlessly clean & bright; our bathroom even glistened. Phil's skills in the breakfast galley range from a fine full-house English to perfect soft boiled eggs. Two other members of the family, Oscar & Molly are two adorable, gentle. playful mutts who add to the charm of the place. Our 4 night stay was splendid.

Reviewer: Mr. Christopher Spink | Wed 11th Jul 2012


Excellent Service - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome, relaxed, comfortable, good value

Reviewer: Mr. David Clowes | Thu 5th Jul 2012


Westwinds - Rating 4/5

Arrived at the end of a very long journey in the pouring rain. Was made to feel most welcome. Room was clean and comfortable and proved to be very quiet at night and early morning if you discount the seagulls ! Internet connection very useful and breakfast more than adequate.

Reviewer: Mr. Edwin Barry Connor | Wed 4th Jul 2012


Overnight B&B - Rating 4/5

A very comfortable stay; very clean; excellent very helpful family staff; very good, well-cooked breakfast. Only reason for losing one star was shared toilet and shower room, which was extremely clean, but meant toilet not available when shower in use. However, will definitely stay again.

Reviewer: Mr. Chris Dovey | Sat 30th Jun 2012


Westwinds, Plymouth - Rating 4/5

We recently stayed at the Westwinds for a couple of days during a longer holiday in Devon and Cornwall and we have no hesitation in recommending it. The rooms are kept clean and tidy, the breakfasts are nice and the proprietor, Phil, is very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Collins | Mon 11th Jun 2012


First Class Guest House - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Westwinds for just the one night, but would definitely recommend the house. Phil, Linda and Stacie are the perfect team. So welcoming, friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and tidy, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellently prepared and served. It was hot and tasty. We will definitely stay here whenever we are in Plymouth again.

Reviewer: Mr. John Hellens | Sun 3rd Jun 2012


Olympic Weekend Getaway - Rating 4/5

Last minute we decided to visit Plymouth to see the Olympic torch arrive and join in celebrations. We arrived just before 2pm - had a bit of an effort fitting our L200 in the small car park - but had a warm welcome and the whole Guest House was well decorated and comfortable. The double room was clean, bright and cosy, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Being at the back of the building it was also nice an quiet. The cooked breakfast was well presented, very tasty and set-us up for the day. The Guest house was perfectly placed for visiting the Hoe - just about 5 mins walk, and is also very convenient for all the amenities at the centre. The owners are very friendly and helpful and we have no problem in recommending Westwinds to anyone visiting Plymouth for a short break - and we will probably stay there again. (I would have rated as very good - if this option was available - as couldn't choose excellent due to limited parking.)

Reviewer: Mr. Ian Tyldesley | Mon 21st May 2012


Stay at Westwinds - Rating 4/5

Friendly, clean and comfortable

Reviewer: Mike Birkin | Sat 21st Apr 2012


Very Friendly - and accepts dogs - Rating 5/5

Very clean, simple, relaxed and friendly B & B with a decent breakfast. The breakfast room, which included a comfortable lounge area, was compact enough for guests to get to know one another and chat which we enjoyed. The owner, who has two friendly spaniels, made visiting dogs welcome. The small guest room, unpretentious decor and simple facilities are reflected in the price. The property is very well located one block away from the Hoe which offers a stunning elevated walk overlooking the Sound and surrounding countryside. We met guests who'd booked time and time again which is an excellent recommendation. We would certainly rebook if looking for affordable, well-located, dog-friendly accommodation in Plymouth.

Reviewer: Mrs. Annie Mulholland | Tue 10th Apr 2012


westwinds guest house - Rating 5/5

very pleasant guest house 3rd time we have stayed and westwinds will always be our first choice we have always been made welcome and they are very friendly towards us thank you for a everything

Reviewer: Mr. Steve Hearson | Tue 3rd Apr 2012


Good place to stay. - Rating 4/5

Having stayed before would recommend. Made to feel welcome.

Reviewer: Mr. Michael Barrowdale | Sat 18th Feb 2012


My Stay - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here on many an occasion and am always greeted with a warm welcoming. The rooms are furnished to a very good standard and nothing is too much trouble. They offer a first class breakfast, and is in a convenient location to the Barbican and the Hoe should you fancy a short stroll. Overall I have rated this as 5 stars excellent, as this best describes my stay.

Reviewer: Mr. Matthew Ablett | Fri 20th Jan 2012